Whew! Back again!

The last couple of months have passed me in a blur of motion and thought. I have taught two Brave Writer family workshops in grammar and poetry,  and I have continued to plod through the expository writing process with my college prep and honors-level writing courses that I teach at Heritage Christian School‘s East County II Class Day co-op.

We are anticipating the delivery of the 2011 Book of Common Prayer in mid-April. They were printed in China, then held up in Chinese customs for a couple of weeks. After much prayer, they were finally released and are now on a ship, gliding their way across the Pacific to Los Angeles (due April 10), then will be shipped down to San Diego. I have so many requests for copies from friends and prayer book fans that it’s rather overwhelming.

And I continue homeschooling our three boys while remaining in constant text-communication with our daughter at college during the week; she’s often home on weekends.

Now I am preparing for my two spring classes at Brave Writer; I’ll write a separate post about them in the next week. I’m starting a high school analysis course on Macbeth on April 11, and following will be a family Shakespeare workshop. Fortunately, these classes occur at a slow point in my co-op courses–when they’re working on their MLA research essays that are due in late May/early June.

I’ve also been researching for a possible fan fiction course for this summer at Brave Writer, both reading and writing different fan fictions in the Twilight genre. Fan fiction is a wonderful way of getting teens to write, the girls tending toward Twilight and Harry Potter and the boys toward Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and Star Trek. It’s a very interesting writing genre that may appeal to many reluctant writers. 

So that’s where I’ve been for the past two months. I’ll be updating here more in the future.

About susannebarrett

I am a voracious reader, a dedicated writer, an occasional poet, a passionate educator, a contemplative Christian, a puttering gardener, an uncertain photographer, a fan of all things bright and British, a newbie genealogist, and, best of all, wife to an artistic genius and a homeschooling mother of four incredible young people. I write poetry, fiction, fan fiction, nonfiction, plus multiple blog and journal entries.
This entry was posted in Brave Writer, The Crazy Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

